Simon Pagenaud earned $ 1 million for the Indycar Championship 2016

How much has the Indycar Champion earned in 2016? Simon Pagenaud was presented with his Astor Cup trophy a cool million US dollars.

An epic season deserves an equally impressive champion. That’s what INDYCAR has in Simon Pagenaud, who was honored tonight at the Verizon IndyCar Series Championship Celebration 2016.

Indy car Champion

Pagenaud, 32, was hailed at the Hilbert Circle Theater on Monument Circle of Indianapolis, having won the season championship due to the strength of a series best of five race wins and seven Verizon P1 Award pole positions during the 16-race campaign.

The 22-team Penske Chevrolet driver received the $ 1 million prize and the Astor Challenge Cup, the trophy that has been presented to the series winner since 2011 each year by Mark Miles, CEO of Hulman & Co., the parent company of INDYCAR and Indianapolis engine. Speedway, in front of a capacity.

Pagenaud earned his first career title with a dominant win in the season finale on September 18, the Sonoma GoPro Grand Prix. Two weeks to take the importance of his performance, the Frenchman enjoys the moment.

“It’s a milestone in my career, of course, my lifelong dream has come true,” said Pagenaud, who has just completed his sixth full-time season and the seventh overall Indy race car. “Of course, there are more in the future to achieve other goals, but I’ve achieved one of the greatest I wanted.”

The celebration of Pagenaud as champion crowned an evening of recognition of superlatives During the historic 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season, the 100th running blockbuster of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race presented by PennGrade Motor Oil – won in the most memorable manner by rookie Alexander Rossi, who crossed the finish line after his Andretti Herta Autosport was empty with Curb-Agajanian Honda on the final lap.

The epic season also included a return to the roots of Indy racing at the legendary Phoenix International Raceway, Road America and Watkins Glen International racetracks. Coupled with continued successful events on INDYCAR circuits on temporary road courses (St. Petersburg, Long Beach, Belle Isle and Toronto), permanent road courses (Barber Motorsports Park, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course and Sonoma Raceway) and Ovals ( Texas Motor Speedway, Iowa Speedway and Pocono Raceway) provided yet another year of solid, measurable growth for INDYCAR.

“That was a phenomenal season,” said Miles. “Historically, in the truest sense of the word, with the epic 100th Running of the Indy 500 – which, I think, was a monumental event that exceeded all expectations, but then the year was great, I think of all the races, each of them was a dynamite -Event – great races, big crowds.

“All of our fan metrics have increased significantly this year,” Miles added. “In fact, over the last three years, we’ve gone up 55 percent in our television audience, which very few sports can claim, and all our other metrics are great.” INDYCAR is at stake, we have the timetable out for next year and people are looking forward to 2017. “

In addition to the championship bonus, Pagenaud received the Jostens Champions Award, a ring commemorating his championship. He also won the Sunoco Diamond Performance Award for winning most races this season and the Verizon P1 Award for most points among the pole winners.

Billy Vincent, chief mechanic of Pagenaud’s No. 22 Team Penske Chevrolet, accepted the Verizon IndyCar Series Chief Mechanic of the Year Award. Jon Bouslog was honored as Team Manager of the Year as Team Penske garnered its 14th Indy Car Championship in the same year, with owner Roger Penske’s organization celebrating 50 years of racing.

“Of course, Team Penske is one of the most historic racing teams in the world,” said Pagenaud. “I am so proud to be part of this team, so proud that I was able to bring Roger this championship, the 50th anniversary is huge and that will go down in history, I’m very glad I’m a bit of my legacy but I’m a very small part in a very big deal.”

Rossi received the 2007 Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award for the Verizon IndyCar Series, having also been voted Sunoco Rookie of the Year for the Indianapolis 500 in May. Another rookie from the Verizon IndyCar Series, Conor Daly, won the TAG Heuer “Do not Crack Under Pressure” award for promoting the most cumulative places from the start of the race to the finish during the season.

Mike Hull, CEO of Chip Ganassi Racing, accepted the Firestone “Drive to the Finish” award on behalf of Charlie Kimball, who completed most of the rounds of all drivers this season (2,066 out of a possible 2,070, 99.8 percent). The Bryan Clauson family, voted INDYCAR Nation Fan Favorite Driver, received the award for the three-time Indianapolis 500 starter, who was fatally injured in a midget race accident in August.

Jim Campbell, Chevrolet’s vice president of performance vehicles and motorsport, accepted the manufacturer’s award on behalf of Chevrolet, who won 14 of the 16 races, 13 pole positions and 71 percent of the race laps (1,467 out of 2,070). Chevrolet has won the Manufacturers Award every year since the Verizon IndyCar Series engine competition resumed in 2012.

Will Power of the Team Penske was honored as a runner-up in the championship, while team-mate Helio Castroneves was awarded for third place. It gave Team Penske a sweep of the top three places in the scoring.

“Tonight is really a tour de force for Team Penske,” said Miles. “You can not finish 1-2-3 unless you beat 4-5-6 to 21 or 22. It’s been a great year of racing for Simon and Roger Penske in his 50th year in racing, it’s just an amazing feat. “

Cart Item Removed. Undo
  • No products in the cart.