Craftsman Sprint Car

Donny Schatz surpassed 50 other rivals, as well as Mother Nature, to claim victory in the 51st Tuscarora 50 at Port Royal Speedway in Pennsylvania, sanctioned for the first time ever by the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series. Schatz started in fifth and worked his way forward methodically, taking Brad Sweet’s lead in Round 32 and then moving away over the last 18 laps to earn the $ 51,000 win. The outlaws are heading south this weekend to complete the season with the run of the World Finals on the Dirt Track in Charlotte, NC.

Another crown jewel

The Tuscarora 50 was the only marquee and marquee event Donny Schatz had ever won in his career. Originally scheduled for September as Arctic Cat’s All Star Circuit of Champion race, Rain forced his move to October, with the sanction switched to the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series. It was the third victory in Schatz’s career on the half-mile. He also added to his series-leading total, which sits at 21, with a few race nights remaining this season.

A lot of passing

Freddie Rahmer and Daryn Pittman drove more than their fair share of cars on the way to podiums during Tuscarora 50. Rahmer started 16th and drove to second place. Pittman, who moved from the B final to the main event, moved from 23rd to third place, earning him the KSE Racing Products Hard Charger Award. David Gravel also worked his way through the field, coming from 17th to fifth place.

Outlaws Vs. farce

The World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series won the final battle of 2018 with the Pennsylvania Posse, as Outlaws riders took six places in the top 10 Tuscarora 50s. This season, the PA Posse won three times, while Schatz’s Port Royal victory was the only Outlaws victory. Gio Scelzi, who is neither an outlaw nor a posse member, also won in Central PA this year. Mother Nature was the biggest winner, taking four wins this season in central Pennsylvania.

Great rebound

Danny Dietrich ran in the top five when he suffered a flat tire on lap 17 of the Tuscarora 50. After driving into the work area to change the tire, the member of Pennsylvania Posse stormed back through the field and finished seventh.

New course record

After two days of rain on Port Royal Speedway, a crisp afternoon on Sunday afternoon greeted the participants, resulting in some lightning-fast laps in the time trial. Brian Brown became the fastest of the 51 participants during the second time trial race. A total of seven drivers broke the previous course record, which stood since 2014. For his efforts, Brown received a $ 500 Fast Time Award and a special trophy he presented to a young fan.

Port Royal debut

The Scelzi brothers Dominic and Gio both gave their Port Royal Speedway debut aboard Teamcars for the Indy Race Parts Team. After moving into the main race, both had bad luck with the 50-lapper, which ended their race prematurely. The brothers will be team-mates at the World Finals next weekend.

Outlaws debut

Tyler Reeser made his debut in the World of Outlaw’s Craftsman Sprint Car Series in the Tuscarora 50. The young rider finished third in the fifth heat race to switch to the main line. In the main case, he was disqualified because he was not in the right position after a restart, after he had been informed several times by the race director about the driver’s radio.

Hard night

Lance Dewease, one of the favorites who came to the Tuscarora 50, had a hard afternoon. In the first flight of the time trial of the 26 drivers of this group, he finished 16th. Then, in the first heat race, he hit the wall and up, causing too much damage to keep going, finishing his race and his season. Dewease won four times this season in Port Royal aboard the # 69K for Don Kreitz’s team.

Pacing the field

The No. 27 Heffner Racing machine moved up the field for the Tuscarora 50 in tribute to the late Greg Hodnett, who was a four-time winner of the event. Hodnett had over 50 wins in his half-mile career. The Missing Man Formation was also in effect during the 4-Wide Salute, as the Outlaws honored both Hodnett and Jason Johnson.

Add a second car

The CJB Motorsports team drove a second car for experienced rider Kerry Madsen on Port Royal Speedway and will do so at the World Finals. The Australian usually drives for the Big Game Treestand’s tree, which is supported by its parent company, Mainstream Holdings: Muddy Outdoors, as sponsor of the # 5 CJB machine powered by David Gravel. Madsen won with the Outlaws at Cedar Lake Speedway in Wisconsin this season.

Back in the saddle

Dale Blaney will be competing in the World Finals after missing out on a major part of the season for a non-race injury. The multiple Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions title winner will be driving the No. 5B machine for Chase Briscoe Motorsports. The team has participated in a handful of winged sprint events this season, including a pair with Briscoe himself behind the wheel.

Points Update

Due to a different format than a standard World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series event, Tuscarora offered all riders “show up” points for the event. Donny Schatz only has to sign up for the World Finals to claim his 10th World Championship title. Brad Sweet finishes second for the second time in a row. David Gravel currently has a 24-point lead over Daryn Pittman in the fight for third place. Shane Stewart is in fifth, followed by Logan Schuchart in sixth, Sheldon Haudenschild on Demsiebten, rookie Ian Madsen in eighth place, Brent Marks on burst and Kraig Kinser in 10th.

Next up

The World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series ends the 2018 season with the run of the World Finals on the Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway, Thursday-Saturday. Also in action are the World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series and Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modifieds. Thursday consists of time trials for the World of Outlaws, which will set the Heat Race lineups for Friday and Saturday.

Donny Schatz, who scored 11 career victories in Charlotte, was victorious on the track in May. Schatz and David Gravel parted last year at the World Finals. Joey Saldana has four wins in Charlotte while Paul McMahan has three wins on the track and Daryn Pittman has two wins. Logan Schuchart, Brian Brown, Dale Blaney and Greg Wilson all have a victory in their respective careers on the state-of-the-art four-tenths of a mile.

Cart Item Removed. Undo
  • No products in the cart.